North Carolina Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Defensive Driving Programs

North Carolina Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Defensive Driving Programs

North Carolina Mature Driver Improvement Online

North Carolina Seniors 55 Auto Car Insurance Discount Course

North Carolina, NC, AAA, Senior Drivers. Age 55. Mature, Defensive Driving, Program, Mature, Driver, Driving, Improvement, Seniors, Age, 55, Auto, Car, Insurance, Discount, Online, Course

Alabama, Senior, Drivers, Age 55, Mature, Driving, Improvement



North Carolina Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Driving Improvement

Senior citizens age 55 and over can qualify for an auto insurance discount with most major car insurance companies by completing the online defensive driving course. Many companies off discounts off you current policy of 5%-20% with completion of the course.  Check with your auto insurance agent or insurance provider for details. 

In the US, 34 states offer the course and many of those have governing mandates which require auto insurance companies to provide a discount upon mature driver improvement certificate.  

States Requiring a Mandatory Auto Insurance Discount

According to USA Today the 34 states, in addition to D.C., that provide rules for a discount for age 55 mature driving classes are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. 

 Of those 34 states, 23 and the District of Columbia mandate a discount for online versions of state-approved classes. The 23 states are: Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and Washington.

North Carolina Seniors Auto Insurance Discounts

After you take the class, you’re issued a certificate that you turn into your insurer to receive the discount. The discount is good for three years, after which you must take a class again to receive the discount. Most of the states that mandate an age 55 mature driver discount leave the amount to the insurer’s discretion. A handful set an amount. If you live in Delaware, Georgia, Minnesota, New York or Wyoming, you must receive a discount of 10 percent or more. If you live in Connecticut, New Jersey or Pennsylvania, you must receive a discount of 5 percent or more. Before taking a class, check with your state’s department of motor vehicles and your insurer to be sure it’s an approved class.

If you live in a state that doesn’t mandate a discount, it’s still worthwhile to see what types of discounts your insurer offers — many offer a discount to drivers of any age who take an approved defensive-driving class. Allstate and The Hartford are among the companies that offer discounts for safe-driving classes; some companies offer discounts to retirees for simply retiring and driving less.


Company Information ↓

Allstate | State Farm | Geico | Progressive | esurance | 21st Century | Liberty Mutual | Nationwide| USAA | Farmers | American Family | Travelers | The Hartford

Albemarle, Apex, Asheboro, Asheville, Boone, Carrboro, Cary, Chapel Hill, Charlotte, Concord, Durham, Eden, Elizabeth City, Fayetteville, Garner, Gastonia, Goldsboro, Graham, Greensboro, Greenville, Havelock, Henderson, Hickory, Jacksonville, Kannapolis, Kernersville, Kinston, Laurinburg, Lenoir, Lexington, Lumberton, Matthews, Monroe, Mooresville, Morganton, New Bern, Newton, Raleigh, Reidsville, Roanoke Rapids, Rocky Mount, Salisbury, Sanford, Shelby, Smithfield, Southern Pines, Statesville, Tarboro, Thomasville, Wake Forest, Wilmington, Wilson, Winston Salem, Alexander County,     Taylorsville

Alleghany County,     Sparta,

Anson County,     Wadesboro,

Ashe County,     Jefferson,

Avery County,     Newland,

Beaufort County,     Washington,

Bertie County,     Windsor,

Bladen County,     Elizabethtown,

Brunswick County,     Bolivia,

Buncombe County,     Asheville,

Burke County,     Morganton,

Cabarrus County,     Concord,

Caldwell County,     Lenoir,

Camden County,     Camden,

Carteret County,     Beaufort,

Caswell County,     Yanceyville,

Catawba County,     Newton,

Chatham County,     Pittsboro,

Cherokee County,     Murphy,

Chowan County,     Edenton,

Clay County,     Hayesville,

Cleveland County,     Shelby,

Columbus County,     Whiteville,

Craven County,     New Bern,

Cumberland County,     Fayetteville,

Currituck County,     Currituck,

Dare County,     Manteo,

Davidson County,     Lexington,

Davie County,     Mocksville,

Duplin County,     Kenansville,

Durham County,     Durham,

Edgecombe County,     Tarboro,

Forsyth County,     Winston-Salem,

Franklin County,     Louisburg,

Gaston County,     Gastonia,

Gates County,     Gatesville,

Graham County,     Robbinsville,

Granville County,     Oxford,

Greene County,     Snow Hill,

Guilford County,     Greensboro,  High Point,

Halifax County,     Halifax,

Harnett County,     Lillington,

Haywood County,     Waynesville,

Henderson County,     Hendersonville,

Hertford County,     Winton,

Hoke County,     Raeford,

Hyde County,     Swan Quarter,

Iredell County,     Statesville,

Jackson County,     Sylva,

Johnston County,     Smithfield,

Jones County,     Trenton,

Lee County,     Sanford,

Lenoir County,     Kinston,

Lincoln County,     Lincolnton,

Macon County,     Franklin,

Madison County,     Marshall,

Martin County,     Williamston,

McDowell County,     Marion,

Mecklenburg County,     Charlotte,

Mitchell County,     Bakersville,

Montgomery County,     Troy,

Moore County,     Carthage,

Nash County,     Nashville,

New Hanover County,     Wilmington,

Northampton County,     Jackson,

Onslow County,     Jacksonville,

Orange County,     Hillsborough,

Pamlico County,     Bayboro,

Pasquotank County,     Elizabeth City,

Pender County,     Burgaw,

Perquimans County,     Hertford,

Person County,     Roxboro,

Pitt County,     Greenville,

Polk County,     Columbus,

Randolph County,     Asheboro,

Richmond County,     Rockingham,

Robeson County,     Lumberton,

Rockingham County,     Wentworth,

Rowan County,     Salisbury,

Rutherford County,     Rutherfordton,

Sampson County,     Clinton,

Scotland County,     Laurinburg,

Stanly County,     Albemarle,

Stokes County,     Danbury,

Surry County,     Dobson,

Swain County,     Bryson City,

Transylvania County,     Brevard,

Tyrrell County,     Columbia,

Union County,     Monroe,

Vance County,     Henderson,

Wake County,     Raleigh,

Warren County,     Warrenton

Washington County,     Plymouth,

Watauga County,     Boone,

Wayne County,     Goldsboro,

Wilkes County,     Wilkesboro,

Wilson County,     Wilson,

Yadkin County,     Yadkinville,

Yancey County,     Burnsville