North Dakota Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Defensive Driving Programs

North Dakota Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Defensive Driving Programs

North Dakota Mature Driver Improvement Online

North Dakota Seniors 55 Auto Car Insurance Discount Course

North Dakota, Senior Drivers. Age 55. Mature, Defensive Driving, Program, Mature, Driver, Driving, Improvement, Seniors, Age, 55, Auto, Car, Insurance, Discount, Online, Course

North Dakota, Senior, Drivers, Age 55, Mature, Driving, Improvement



North Dakota Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Driving Improvement

Senior citizens age 55 and over can qualify for an auto insurance discount with most major car insurance companies by completing the online defensive driving course. Many companies off discounts off you current policy of 5%-20% with completion of the course.  Check with your auto insurance agent or insurance provider for details. 

In the US, 34 states offer the course and many of those have governing mandates which require auto insurance companies to provide a discount upon mature driver improvement certificate.  

States Requiring a Mandatory Auto Insurance Discount

According to USA Today the 34 states, in addition to D.C., that provide rules for a discount for age 55 mature driving classes are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. 

 Of those 34 states, 23 and the District of Columbia mandate a discount for online versions of state-approved classes. The 23 states are: Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and Washington.

North Dakota Seniors Auto Insurance Discounts

After you take the class, you’re issued a certificate that you turn into your insurer to receive the discount. The discount is good for three years, after which you must take a class again to receive the discount. Most of the states that mandate an age 55 mature driver discount leave the amount to the insurer’s discretion. A handful set an amount. If you live in Delaware, Georgia, Minnesota, New York or Wyoming, you must receive a discount of 10 percent or more. If you live in Connecticut, New Jersey or Pennsylvania, you must receive a discount of 5 percent or more. Before taking a class, check with your state’s department of motor vehicles and your insurer to be sure it’s an approved class.

If you live in a state that doesn’t mandate a discount, it’s still worthwhile to see what types of discounts your insurer offers — many offer a discount to drivers of any age who take an approved defensive-driving class. Allstate and The Hartford are among the companies that offer discounts for safe-driving classes; some companies offer discounts to retirees for simply retiring and driving less.


Company Information ↓

Allstate | State Farm | Geico | Progressive | esurance | 21st Century | Liberty Mutual | Nationwide| USAA | Farmers | American Family | Travelers | The Hartford

Bismarck, Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Mandan, Minot, West Fargo, Williston, Adams County,     Hettinger,

Barnes County,     Valley City,

Benson County,     Minnewaukan,

Billings County,     Medora,

Bottineau County,     Bottineau,

Bowman County,     Bowman,

Burke County,     Bowbells,

Burleigh County,     Bismarck,

Cass County,     Fargo,

Cavalier County,     Langdon,

Dickey County,     Ellendale,

Divide County,     Crosby,

Dunn County,     Manning,

Eddy County,     New Rockford,

Emmons County,     Linton,

Foster County,     Carrington,

Golden Valley County,     Beach,

Grand Forks County,     Grand Forks,

Grant County,     Carson,

Griggs County,     Cooperstown,

Hettinger County,     Mott,

Kidder County,     Steele,

LaMoure County,     La Moure,

Logan County,     Napoleon,

McHenry County,     Towner,

McIntosh County,     Ashley,

McKenzie County,     Watford City,

McLean County,     Washburn,

Mercer County,     Stanton,

Morton County,     Mandan,

Mountrail County,     Stanley,

Nelson County,     Lakota,

Oliver County,     Center,

Pembina County,     Cavalier,

Pierce County,     Rugby,

Ramsey County,     Devils Lake,

Ransom County,     Lisbon,

Renville County,     Mohall,

Richland County,     Wahpeton,

Rolette County,     Rolla,

Sargent County,     Forman,

Sheridan County,     McClusky,

Sioux County,     Fort Yates,

Slope County,     Amidon,

Stark County,     Dickinson,

Steele County,     Finley,

Stutsman County,     Jamestown,

Towner County,     Cando,

Traill County,     Hillsboro,

Walsh County,     Grafton,

Ward County,     Minot,

Wells County,     Fessenden,

Williams County,     Williston