South Dakota Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Defensive Driving Programs

South Dakota Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Defensive Driving Programs

South Dakota Mature Driver Improvement Online

South Dakota Seniors 55 Auto Car Insurance Discount Course

South Dakota, Senior Drivers. Age 55. Mature, Defensive Driving, Program, Mature, Driver, Driving, Improvement, Seniors, Age, 55, Auto, Car, Insurance, Discount, Online, Course

South Dakota, Senior, Drivers, Age 55, Mature, Driving, Improvement



South Dakota Senior Drivers Age 55 Mature Driving Improvement

Senior citizens age 55 and over can qualify for an auto insurance discount with most major car insurance companies by completing the online defensive driving course. Many companies off discounts off you current policy of 5%-20% with completion of the course.  Check with your auto insurance agent or insurance provider for details. 

In the US, 34 states offer the course and many of those have governing mandates which require auto insurance companies to provide a discount upon mature driver improvement certificate.  

States Requiring a Mandatory Auto Insurance Discount

According to USA Today the 34 states, in addition to D.C., that provide rules for a discount for age 55 mature driving classes are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. 

 Of those 34 states, 23 and the District of Columbia mandate a discount for online versions of state-approved classes. The 23 states are: Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and Washington.

South Dakota Seniors Auto Insurance Discounts

After you take the class, you’re issued a certificate that you turn into your insurer to receive the discount. The discount is good for three years, after which you must take a class again to receive the discount. Most of the states that mandate an age 55 mature driver discount leave the amount to the insurer’s discretion. A handful set an amount. If you live in Delaware, Georgia, Minnesota, New York or Wyoming, you must receive a discount of 10 percent or more. If you live in Connecticut, New Jersey or Pennsylvania, you must receive a discount of 5 percent or more. Before taking a class, check with your state’s department of motor vehicles and your insurer to be sure it’s an approved class.

If you live in a state that doesn’t mandate a discount, it’s still worthwhile to see what types of discounts your insurer offers — many offer a discount to drivers of any age who take an approved defensive-driving class. Allstate and The Hartford are among the companies that offer discounts for safe-driving classes; some companies offer discounts to retirees for simply retiring and driving less.


Company Information ↓

Allstate | State Farm | Geico | Progressive | esurance | 21st Century | Liberty Mutual | Nationwide| USAA | Farmers | American Family | Travelers | The Hartford

 Aberdeen, Brookings, Huron, Mitchell, Pierre, Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Vermillion, Watertown, Yankton,

Aurora County,
Beadle County,
Bennett County,
Bon Homme County,
Brookings County,
Brown County,
Brule County,
Buffalo County,
Butte County,
Campbell County,
Charles Mix County,
Clark County,
Clay County,
Codington County,
Corson County,
Custer County,
Davison County,
Day County,
Deuel County,
Dewey County,
Douglas County,
Edmunds County,
Fall River County,
Faulk County,
Grant County,
Gregory County,
Haakon County,
Hamlin County,
Hand County,
Hanson County,
Harding County,
Hughes County,
Hutchinson County,
Hyde County,
Jackson County,
Jerauld County,
Jones County,
Kingsbury County,
Lake County,
Lawrence County,
Lincoln County,
Lyman County,
Marshall County,
McCook County,
McPherson County,
Meade County,
Mellette County,
Miner County,
Moody County,
Pennington County,
Perkins County,
Potter County,
Roberts County,
Sanborn County,
Shannon County,
Spink County,
Stanley County,
Sully County,
Todd County,
Tripp County,
Turner County,
Union County,
Walworth County,
Yankton County,
Ziebach County